Home of Recreational Cricket in Nottinghamshire

Friday, 9th October 2015


Ten Men Pull Off A Shock Win Over Plumtree

It is building up to the most exciting title race for years in Division One of the Newark Alliance with three teams sharing the lead and the reigning champions breathing down their necks.

Former outright leaders Plumtree went down to ten-man Southwell by 49 runs as the chasing pack all won.

Gedling Colliery had half centuries from Rhys Hayes (73) and James Barnes to thank for setting up a thrilling four-run win against Collingham.

A century stand between Oliver Dyson (92*) and Harry Sheppard (55) threatened to win it for Collingham but they fell just short.

Madni made it a three-way tie after an impressive five-wicket win at Balderton (240-5).

Aziz Farooq guided the visitors home with an unbeaten 98. Earlier Michael Duffy had scored an unbeaten century for Balderton.

The top two in Division Two both won. Thoresby Colliery remain two points clear after a seven-wicket win against struggling Oxton (163-4), who welcomed back Simon Widdison to their ranks. But his half century wasn't enough to deny the leaders.

Notts Unity Casuals could only manage 130 against Long Eaton. Tim Taylor hit 50 in reply, but an excellent session of out cricket, led by Alex McDonald (3-19) and Uzi Aziz (3-22) squeezed the points out of Long Eaton (98).

There was a shock result in Division Four where runaway leaders Claypole were brought back down to earth by Wiseton's South African professional James Moss, who bludgeoned 14 sixes in his brisk 123.

A century for Rob Wyles (114) meant Claypole were chasing a massive 362. Only Kevin Jacques, with 57, made any dent in the target as they lost by 215 runs.

Newark R&M took full advantage of the leaders' bad day to close the gap to four points after crushing local rivals Farndon, who were humbled for just 28. Craig Drury's 5-12 set up the formality of a nine-wicket victory.

Div One: Balderton 240-5 (Michael Duffy 100*, Peter Lambert 28*) lost to Madni 243-5 (Aziz Farooq 98*); Papplewick & Linby w/o v Clifton Village; Collingham 198-7 (Oliver Dyson 92*, Harry Sheppard 55, James Cousins 5-32) lost to Gedling Colliery 202-8 (Rhys Hayes 79, James Barnes 53); Sleaford (Ben Burrows 82*, Paul Roberts 70* & 5-12, Thomas Shorthouse 3-30) bt Radcliffe-on-Trent by 102 runs; Southwell 195-9 (James Johnston 56, Ranjith Shetty 45, George Bacon 38) bt Plumtree 146-8 (Jamie Hahn 53, Len Jackson 3-7).

Div Two: Notts Unity Casuals 130 (Felix Hogg 48, Imran Usman 28*, Alex MacDonald 3-19, Uzi Aziz 3-22) bt Long Eaton 98 (Tim Taylor 50, Chris Pack 5-29, Alan Villiers 3-1); Thoresby Colliery 169-3 bt Oxton 163-4 (Simon Widdison 56*).

Div Three: Fiskerton 113 (Ed Akers 27*, Rich Hawkins 25, Dan Jones 3-28) lost to Sherwood Casuals 213 (Shaf Akhtar 72, Nad Akhtar 52, Gary Hallsworth 43, Joe Hallsworth 4-25, Jamie Rooke 3-32); Kimberley w/o v Radcliffe-on-Trent II; Wollaton 118-6 (Luke Robinson 31*, Saqib Yaqub 4-34) lost to Caythorpe 206-7 (James Hawley 107).

Div Four: Claypole 146 (Kevin Jacques 57, Steve Ryder 39) lost to Wiseton 361-5 (James Moss 123, Rob Wyles 114, Nick White 61); Fastlane Cabs 272-8 bt Balderton II 149-9; Newark R&M I 29-1 (Craig Drury 5-12) bt Farndon 28; Newark R&M II w/o v Plumtree II.

Div Five: Kegworth Town 213-8 (Adam Meads 73, Richard Cartwright 34, Jordan Holmes 31, Mark Wade 3-3, William Wade 3-26) bt Lowdham 87 (Matt Ingham 5-47); Lambley 147 (Karl Oakden 30 & 4-34) lost to Risley 215-7 (Marc Addison 93, Lee Collison 32 & 3-24. Jay Harper 4-28).

Div Six: Chilwell w/o v Long Eaton II; Sandiacre Town 121 (James Dean 51) lost to Sutton Bonington 218-5 (K Hammond 125); Thurgarton II 231-9 (Chris Dutton 72, Niels Hart 69, Amy Binch 33*, Alex Butler 4-12, Aaman Singh 3-13) bt Burton Joyce 50.

For more local news and sport visit The Nottingham Post

NCB News

  • John Cope 06/10/2015

    Death of former Cricket Development Manager announced.... more

  • Recruitment of Apprentices & Co-ordinator - Team Nottingham 02/10/2015

    12 month roles to support Team Nottinghamshire Initiative... more

  • NatWest OSCAs Nomination for Harry Johnson 28/09/2015

    Smith Cooper apprentice nominated for national award... more