Home of Recreational Cricket in Nottinghamshire

Tuesday, 13th October 2015


Clifton, Cavs and Wollaton seal finals spot

The Premier League Twenty20 finals will be contested by Clifton, West Indian Cavaliers, Wollaton and the winners of a play-off between the individual T20 champions of the Bassetlaw and South Notts Leagues.

Three groups of four battled it out to reach the finals day at Papplewick on July 24.

Group one included Clifton, Belvoir, Kiveton Park and the Nottinghamshire Academy. Clifton pipped the Academy by seven runs, thanks mainly to Martin Weightman.

He scored 69 and returned bowling figures of 5-19.

Clifton notched 165-7 in their 20 overs, Liam Sanders chipping in with 40.

Simon Webster took 4-24, but the county side were bowled out for 158 in 19.4 overs with Olly Swann grabbing 56 and Adam Tillcock 39.

Belvoir were dismissed for 118 by Kiveton Park.

Gurpej Landa (35) and Jack Copley (32) did well, Kiveton skipper Lee Brooks taking 3-17. But Kiveton were restricted to 105-8 in their innings.

Belvoir made 138-6 against Clifton, Landa contributing 59 this time and former Derbyshire star Tom Lungley taking 3-28.

Liam Sanders hit an unbeaten 48 as Clifton reached their target for the loss of just four wickets in 18.3 overs.

Scott McNeill provided solid support with 32.

Group two, at Caythorpe, saw the hosts play reigning T20 champions Cuckney in a low scoring affair.

Cuckney made a modest 107-8 but skittled Caythorpe for just 84 in 17.3 overs.

Brown (4-12), Parkin (2-12) and skipper Richard Stroh (2-25) did the damage.

West Indian Cavaliers took on Papplewick, who are not the force that they once were, and won by 33 runs.

Cavs posted 133-8 thanks to Aqib Afzaal (43), Mortaza Ali (38) and Mike Millwood (31).

Aaron Onyon led the Papplewick attack with figures of 3-20.

In reply, Papplewick could only manage a round 100-8, former Test star Saqlain Mushtaq continuing his excellent season with 3-14.

Cuckney then suffered their first Premier League T20 loss in three years against Cavs.

Cuckney closed on 115-5 thanks to an unbeaten 39 from Ian Parkin.

But the Cavs knocked off the target in 18.2 overs through Mortaza (44) and Aqib Afzaal (41 not out).

Group three at the John Fretwell Complex at Sookholme saw hosts Welbeck take on Kimberley.

Martin Dobson (57) and Matt Higgins (82*) led the Welbeck charge.

Kimberley made a good fist of their response but were always behind the rate and were eventually dismissed for 147 in 18.3 overs.

Raman Sharma took 3-21 and only Dominic Wheatley posted a significant score with 34.

The second game between Mansfield Hosiery Mills and Wollaton turned out to be a low-scoring affair.

The Mansfield side batted first and were shot out for 81 in 19.3 overs by Josh Bembridge (4-15). The total would have been considerably lower but for some lusty hitting by Kieron Garside (35).

Wollaton eased to a five-wicket victory with more than two overs to spare, Ian Dodd finishing 33 not out.

Stephen Ludlam returned figures of 3-16.

The final play-off saw Welbeck post 149-7, Higgins hitting his second half century of the day. Bembridge again stood out for Kimberley with 3-25.

But the stars of the show were Anthony Keely (60) and Alex Reed-Brewer (59) who came together at 31-1 and closed out the game with an unbroken stand of 121 to set up a nine-wicket win.

Round 1: Clifton 165-7 in 20 overs bt Nottinghamshire Academy 158 in 19.4 overs. For Clifton: M Weightman 69 & 5-19, L Sanders 40, P McMillan 3-25.For Nottinghamshire Academy: A Tillcock 39, O Swann 56, S Webster 4-24.

Belvoir 118 in 17.2 overs bt Kiveton Park 105-8 in 20 overs. For Belvoir: G Landa 32, J Copley 35. For Kiveton: L Brooks 3-17.

Cuckney 107-8 in 20 overs bt Caythorpe 84 in 17.3 overs. For Cuckney: D Brown 4-12; WI Cavaliers 133-8 in 20 overs bt Papplewick 100-8 in 20 overs. For WI Cavaliers: A Afzaal 43, M Ali 38, M Millwood 31, S Mushtaq 3-14. For Papplewick: A Onyon 3-20.

Welbeck 179-2 in 20 overs bt Kimberley 147 in 18.3 overs. For Welbeck: M Dobson 57, M Higgins 82*, R Sharma 3-21. For Kimberley: D Wheatley 34.

Mansfield HM 81 in 19.3 overs lost to Wollaton 88-5 in 17.4 overs. For Mansfield HM: Kieron Garside 35, S Ludlam 3-16. For Wollaton: I Dodd 33*, J Bembridge 4-15.

Round 2: Belvoir 138-6 in 20 overs lost to Clifton 139-4 in 18.3 overs. For Belvoir: G Landa 59. For Clifton: L Sanders 48*, S McNeill 32, T Lungley 3-28.

Cuckney 115-5 from 20 overs lost to WI Cavaliers 118-3 in 18.2 overs. For Cuckney: I Parkin 39*. For WI Cavaliers: M Ali 44, A Afzaal 41*.

Welbeck 149-7 in 20 overs lost to Wollaton 152-1 in 17.2 overs. For Welbeck: M Higgins 56. For Wollaton: A Keely 60*, A Reed-Brewer 59*, J Bembridge 3-25.

Result is given in order of team batting first.

For more local news and sport visit The Nottingham Post

NCB News

  • John Cope 06/10/2015

    Death of former Cricket Development Manager announced.... more

  • Recruitment of Apprentices & Co-ordinator - Team Nottingham 02/10/2015

    12 month roles to support Team Nottinghamshire Initiative... more

  • NatWest OSCAs Nomination for Harry Johnson 28/09/2015

    Smith Cooper apprentice nominated for national award... more