Home of Recreational Cricket in Nottinghamshire

Thursday, 3rd September 2015


Champs Clifton Make It A Hat-Trick Of Titles

Clifton powered to a swift and comprehensive nine-wicket victory over Wollaton at the Clifton Oval to clinch their third successive Premier League title.

The visitors won the toss and batted first but were disappointingly dismissed for 115 inside 25 overs, with only Anthony Keely making a significant contribution with 32.

Adam Shepherd was the chief destroyer with the remarkable figures of 6.4-1-41-6 and Alastair Walters led the fielding effort with three catches and two stumpings.

Clifton raced to victory – and the championship – in only 17.2 overs for the loss of one wicket with skipper Richard Harris and Dan Birch both finishing unbeaten on 59 and 44 respectively.

West Indian Cavaliers were the only side that could also have won the title, but they needed Clifton to lose.

In the end, they had to be satisfied with second spot and they celebrated by inflicting a six-wicket victory over Cuckney at Birchover Park.

The visitors batted first and despite Will Butler's 52, were skittled for just 124 with Saqlain Mushtaq again grabbing the headlines with a return on 7-34 from his 12 overs.

This haul brings his season tally to 71, second only to Eddie Hemmings' 76 for Caythorpe in 2001.

Cavs skipper Usman Afzaal led from the front again with 45 in their response of 125-4 inside 25 overs.

The Nottinghamshire Academy finished third and had the best of a draw with Welbeck at Sookholme, with the home side finishing in fourth.

The county side took first knock and scored a very competitive 246-9 in their 50-over allocation with Sam Kelsall scoring 65, plus excellent support from Brett Hutton with 56 and Adam Dobb with 40. Guy Darwin ended his season well with figures of 4-70.

The home side's reply ended on 191-5 with Matt Higgins starring with 81 not out and Martyn Dobson 47.

Caythorpe's season came to a disappointing end when they went down to an eight-wicket loss at Kimberley, the visitors dismissed for 140 in 38 overs with the majority of those runs coming from Josh Mierkalns, ninth out for 90.

Matt Wright returned his best Premier League figures since 2009 with 5-52.

In another game that finished early, two former Caythorpe players saw Kimberley over the line in just 37 overs – skipper Sam Ogrizovic ending on 58 and James Mann 39.

Kiveton finished bottom of the table, nearly 100 points short of safety and signed off with a six-wicket loss away at Papplewick.

The visitors were all out for 183 in 47 overs with Christopher Hadley making 61, Roger Spurr 30 and Luke Donaghy 30.

Papplewick got the winning runs in the 43rd over with more runs for Alex Lloyd (84) with support from Tim Clarke (34).

Despite the loss, Donaghy will look back with satisfaction on his day as he took 4-44.

Belvoir are the other relegated side and they finished their season by getting the better of a draw at home to Mansfield Hosiery Mills.

The home side made 206-7 thanks mainly to 57 from James Needle and 41 from Ollie Clayfield; KC Jayasinghe was the leading bowler for the Millers with 4-36.

The visitors hung on at 187-9 with Gareth Curtis rounding off an excellent season with 67 and Stephen Ludlam scoring 31. Phil Irvine and Lee Fazackerley were the leading Belvoir bowlers with 4-47 and 3-29.

Belvoir's Darren Bicknell narrowly missed out on 1,000 runs for the season, a remarkable return considering he missed the first three games and this is the highest run aggregate for a player in a relegated side.

BELVOIR 206-7 in 50 overs (18 pts) drew with Mansfield H.M 187-9 in 50 overs (8 pts). For Belvoir: J Needle 57, O Clayfield 41, L Fazackerley 3-29, P Irvine 4-47. For Mansfield H.M: K Jayasinghe 4-36, G Curtis 67, S Ludlam 31*.

Wollaton 115 in 21.4 overs (0 pts) lost to CLIFTON 118-1 in 17.2 overs (20 pts). For Wollaton: A Keely 32. For Clifton; A Shepherd 6-41, A Walters 3 ct+2st, R Harris 59*, D Birch 44*.

Kiveton Park 183 in 46.5 overs (4 pts) lost to PAPPLEWICK 184-4 in 42.4 overs (20 pts). For Kiveton Park: C Hadley 61, R Spurr 30, L Donaghy 30 and 4-44. For Papplewick: A Lloyd 84, T Clarke 34.

Caythorpe 140 in 38.3 overs (1 pt) lost to KIMBERLEY 141-2 in 37.1 overs (20 pts). For Caythorpe: J Mierkalns 90. For Kimberley: M Wright 5-52, S Ogrizovic 58*, J Mann 39*.

Notts Academy 246-9 in 50 overs (16 pts) drew with WELBECK 191-5 in 50 overs (9 pts). For Notts Academy: B Hutton 56, A Dobb 40, S Kelsall 65. For Welbeck: G Darwin 4-70, M Dobson 47, M Higgins 81*.

Cuckney 124in 40.4 overs (1 pt) lost to W.I.CAVALIERS 125-4 in 24.5 overs (20 pts). For Cuckney: W Butler 52. For
W.I.Cavaliers; S Mushtaq 7-34, U Afzaal 45.

Result given in order of team batting first. Uppercase characters indicate home side.

For more local news and sport visit The Nottingham Post

NCB News

  • Tom Keast Stars in Under 19s Super 4s 01/09/2015

    ... more

  • Under 19 Twenty20 Postponed 31/08/2015

    Rain forces event to be rescheduled.... more

  • Your Chance to Play with Read & Swann 23/08/2015

    Chris Read and Graeme Swann leading teams in Charity match at Radcliffe on Trent.... more